Phœnix Satellite 2022/2023

With “Octandre” Edgard Varèse wrote an epoch-making work for a large chamber music ensemble and at the same time founded a new genre: Four woodwinds and three brass instruments are supplemented by a double bass to form an octet – with the complete omission of keyboard instruments and percussion. In our competition for young musicians “Phoenix Satellite” we have set the task to compose a new work in this instrumentation, which in some way refers to “Octandre” and circles this work like a satellite. The two prize winners will present their new “Satellite” compositions together with “Octandre” by Edgard Varèse at the end of this workshop.

The work “Monolith” by the German composer Thomas Bruttger was commissioned by the “Ensemble Aventure” (Freiburg i. Br.) in 1991.


Edgard Varèse (1883–1965) “Octandre” for 8 instruments (1923) – 8’ Thomas Bruttger (*1954) “Monolith” for 8 instruments (1991) – 9’ winner «Phœnix Satellite» I new work for 8 instruments (2023, WP, commission EPhB) – 15’ winner «Phœnix Satellite» II new work for 8 instruments (2023, WP, commission EPhB) – 15’
Jürg Henneberger
Christoph Bösch
flute, piccolo, bass flute
Antje Thierbach
oboe, English horn, baritone oboe
Toshiko Sakakibara
clarinet, clarinet in Eb, bass clarinet
Lucas Rößner
bassoon, contraforte
Aurélien Tschopp
Nenad Marković
trumpet, piccolo trumpet
Michael Büttler
Aleksander Gabryś
double bass