Date / Place

08 June 2019 Gare du Nord, Basel


phoenix satellite, young composers


Satellite 2018/19_internal closing concert


Eleni Ralli (*1984) “Rawit” for ensemble – dedicated to Ensemble Phoenix Basel (2019, WP) Victor Alexandru Coltea (*1986) “Block Chain” for ensemble – dedicated to Ensemble Phoenix Basel (2019, WP) Ole Hübner (*1993) “masse und bewegung” for ensemble (2019, WP) Omri Abram (*1986) “Time passes Time” for ensemble (2019, WP) Hovik Sardaryan (*1993) “Višap” for ensemble (2019, WP) Emre Sihan Kaleli (*1987) “Gabryś” a number of scenes for double bass and ensemble after Lutosławski’s “Chain I” (2019, WP) Tobias Krebs (*1993) “trycheln” for ensemble (2019, WP) Joey Tan (*1997) “Mix” for 14 instruments (2019, WP)


Christoph Bösch
Antje Thierbach
Toshiko Sakakibara
Lucas Rößner
bassoon, contraforte
Jens Bracher
Aurélien Tschopp
Michael Büttler
Manuel Bärtsch
Ludovic Van Hellemont
Friedemann Treiber
David Sontòn Caflisch
viola, violin
Petra Ackermann
Stéphanie Meyer
Aleksander Gabryś
double bass
Daniel Stalder
Jürg Henneberger

Program description

Trabant 2018/19 followed in its outer, organizational form the pattern of the 2016 modified, second Satellite edition, as it had proven itself in every respect. In addition to the 8 candidates, this time we awarded a “wild card” to the (very) young and talented composer Joey Tan, who had come to our attention during our trip to Singapore last fall. Joey participated as a full member of the group, but externally funded and thus not a burden on the adjacent budget.

In an initial module in November 2018, there was room for instrument-specific issues ranging from small instrumentation to balance issues in full instrumentation. Our core members involved were able to pass on their experience and know-how and information about relevant literature directly to the composers present together as a “class”, which fell on very fertile ground.

In a second module – scheduled for January 2019 – the composers arrived partly with sketches, partly with fully developed compositions in their luggage, which were tried out and tested by larger registers and subsequently by the full ensemble. Feedback from Detlev Müller-Siemens, who was present from this point on, from Jürg Henneberger and from members of the ensemble led to a deeper, more intensive examination of the compositional sketches. Erik Oña had to withdraw completely from the project due to his serious illness, and we were able to replace him with Detlev Müller-Siemens, with whom we had already successfully collaborated in the same capacity in the 2016/17 edition.

For the third module (June 2019), all composers provided a finished piece in score and part material (digital and on paper), which 8 of the 9 composers also complied with (Korean’s Ji Hyon Yoon stayed away from the last module for family reasons). In an almost too dense rehearsal phase, the full ensemble rehearsed the eight partly extensive compositions, again with the constant presence of all composers and Detlev Müller-Siemens. On Saturday, June 8, 2019, all compositions were premiered in a deliberately internal concert and recorded simultaneously.

From the candidates, two will be selected as prize-winners for the concert planned for January 2020 in connection with Witlod Lutosławski’s “Chain I”.