Phœnix

Tim Hodgkinson, Wang Lu & Swiss Composers

English composer and multi-instrumentalist Tim Hodgkinson has become known primarily as an experimental rock and improvisation musician. Among other things, he founded the politically and musically radical group “HENRY COW” together with Fred Frith in 1968. He has also written compositions for classical formations. In 2003 the Ensemble Phoenix Basel played his quartet “Repulsion”, which was released as a live recording on our portrait CD (“United Phoenix Records”, 2004). His new work “under the void”, which he wrote for us, will finally have its world premiere after seven years.

After his studies Colombian composer Leonardo Idrobo stayed in Basel. We’ve followed his work closely and have premiered one of his early works in 2011. We look forward and are curious for his new work.

Christophe Schiess from Biel contributes a newly composed piece for us after a creative break due to family reasons. Since he had studied with Georg Friedrich Haas in Basel, you can find his name more often in our programs. Christoph Schiess is now himself teaching in Basel.

The three world premieres are complemented by an ensemble piece by Chinese composer Wang Lu. “Backstory” has an open, intuitive form. Seemingly loose yet tightly wound blocks of sound rub up against buoyant grooves.


Program

Leonardo Idrobo (*1977) New work for ensemble (2022, WP, commission EPhB) – 15’ Christophe Schiess (*1974) New work for ensemble (2022, WP, commission EPhB) – 15’ Wang Lu (*1982) “Backstory”  for ensemble (2016) – 7’30” Tim Hodgkinson (*1949) “Under the Void”  for ensemble (1916–1918) – 20’
Jürg Henneberger
conductor
Christoph Bösch
flute, piccolo, bass flute
Antje Thierbach
oboe
Toshiko Sakakibara
clarinet, bass clarinet
Lucas Rößner
bassoon, contraforte
Aurélien Tschopp
horn
Nenad Marković
trumpet
Michael Büttler
trombone
Daniel Stalder
percussion
João Pacheco
percussion
Miguel Pisonero
piano
Friedemann Treiber
violin
Daniel Hauptmann
violin
Petra Ackermann
viola
Alessandro D’Amico
viola
Stéphanie Meyer
cello
Aleksander Gabryś
double bass

Phœnix

Tim Hodgkinson, Wang Lu & Schweizer Komponisten

Der englische Multiinstrumentalist und Komponist Tim Hodgkinson ist v.a. als experimenteller Rock- und Improvisationsmusiker bekannt geworden. Er hat u.a. zusammen mit Fred Frith 1968 die politisch und musikalisch radikale Gruppe «HENRY COW» gegründet. Er hat aber auch für klassische Formationen Kompositionen geschrieben. Im Jahr 2003 spielte das Ensemble Phoenix Basel sein Quartett «Repulsion», das als Live-Mitschnitt auf unserer Portrait-CD («United Phoenix Records», 2004) erschienen ist. Sein neues Werk «Under the Void», das er für uns geschrieben hat, wird nach sieben Jahren endlich zu seiner Uraufführung kommen.

Seit seinem Studium lebt der ursprünglich kolumbianische Komponist Leonardo Idrobo in Basel. Schon 2011 hat er für uns komponiert. Nun freuen wir uns, dass ein weiteres Stück von ihm zur Uraufführung kommt.

Auch Christophe Schiess aus Biel hat nach einer familiär bedingten Schaffenspause ein neu komponiertes Stück für uns mitgebracht. Seit er bei Georg Friedrich Haas in Basel studiert hatte, findet man seinen Namen öfter in unseren Programmen. Mittlerweile unterrichtet Christophe Schiess selbst an der Hochschule für Musik in Basel.

Die drei Uraufführungen werden ergänzt durch ein Ensemblestück der chinesischen Komponistin Wang Lu. «Backstory» hat eine offene, intuitive Form. Scheinbar lose und doch fest gewickelte Klangblöcke reiben sich an beschwingten Grooves.


Programm

Leonardo Idrobo (*1977) Neues Werk für Ensemble (2022, UA, Auftrag EPhB) – 15’ Christophe Schiess (*1974) Neues Werk für Ensemble (2022, UA, Auftrag EPhB) – 15’ Wang Lu (*1982) «Backstory»  für Ensemble (2016) – 7’30” Tim Hodgkinson (*1949) «Under the Void» für Ensemble (2016–2018, UA) – 20’
Jürg Henneberger
Musikalische Leitung
Christoph Bösch
Flöte, Piccolo, Bassflöte
Antje Thierbach
Oboe
Toshiko Sakakibara
Klarinette, Bassklarinette
Lucas Rößner
Fagott, Kontraforte
Aurélien Tschopp
Horn
Nenad Marković
Trompete
Michael Büttler
Posaune
Daniel Stalder
Schlagzeug
João Pacheco
Schlagzeug
Miguel Pisonero
Klavier
Friedemann Treiber
Violine
Daniel Hauptmann
Violine
Petra Ackermann
Viola
Alessandro D’Amico
Viola
Stéphanie Meyer
Violoncello
Aleksander Gabryś
Kontrabass