Phœnix

Vigilia

Concert in collaboration with the “SCHOLA HEIDELBERG” (director: Ekkehard Windrich)

The oeuvre of the German composer and musicologist Wolfgang Rihm is immense. In addition to three symphonies, nine operas and a large number of solo and chamber music works, “Vigilia” occupies a very special place as one of the most impressive compositions in his oeuvre. This music manages to be directly accessible to both connoisseurs and less accustomed listeners of new music. Vigils are night watches in the Catholic liturgy, which are spent in scripture readings or prayers and, in the concentration of darkness, are intended to prepare for special church festivals, especially Easter. Rihm refers to this custom and the old music-historical tradition of the responsorial cycle, as shaped by Carlo Gesualdo (1560-1613), for example. Wolfgang Rihm used seven Passion texts as a textual basis, which are sung a capella by a six-part vocal ensemble. These motets are each interrupted by instrumental interludes (Sonata I-VII). In the most extensive final part (Miserere), the instrumental and vocal ensembles perform together.


Program

Wolfgang Rihm (*1952) “Vigilia” for six voices and ensemble (2001–2006) – 65'
Jürg Henneberger
conductor
Ekkehard Windrich
choir direction
Sarah M. Newman
soprano
Julie C. Eggli
alto
Johannes Mayer
tenor
Jörg Deutschewitz
tenor
Ansgar Theis
baritone
Florian Drexel
bass
Toshiko Sakakibara
clarinet
Aurélien Tschopp
horn
Mikael Rudolfsson
trombone
Michael Büttler
trombone
Janne Jakobsson
tuba
Daniel Stalder
percussion
Nicolas Venner
Orgel
Petra Ackermann
viola
Benedikt Böhlen
cello
Aleksander Gabryś
double bass
Phœnix

Nosferatu

Friedrich Wilhelm Murnau (1888 – 1931) / Jannik Giger (*1985): “Nosferatu – A Symphony of Horror” (1922/2017)

As a composer and filmmaker, Jannik Giger is used to exploring and overcoming the boundaries between genres. Projects by and with him always bear his unmistakable signature. His affinity with film allows him to set Murnau’s classic “Nosferatu” to music in a sensitive and coherent way, without ever becoming bold or illustrative.

For his new setting of the silent film classic “Nosferatu – A Symphony of Horror” (1922), which was premiered at the Bern Music Festival in 2017, Jannik Giger drew on set pieces from soundtracks to films by David Lynch and Alfred Hitchcock as well as fragments from the Romantic sound world of Franz Schubert. These reminiscences haunt the score, on the one hand as played samples and on the other as compositional recreations for fourteen instrumentalists, thus linking the historicity of the film with the present of its performance. In the transformation of these traces of the sounding past and their juxtaposition with live musicians, Giger blurs the dividing lines between real and virtual sound production. He dissolves the conventional film-musical orchestral sound by overwriting it with a sound collage of alienated orchestral sounds. This has an intoxicating sonic sensuality and fits cleverly into Friedrich Wilhelm Murnau’s poetic imagery, underlining the dramaturgy of the film and yet remaining an independent unit of meaning. Furthermore, Giger’s composition repeatedly identifies its level of quotation as such and thus becomes a reflection on the nature and effect of film music. (Moritz Achermann)


Program

Jannik Giger (*1985) “Nosferatu – A Symphony of Horror” for ensemble and electronics (with film) (2017) – 90’
Jürg Henneberger
conductor
Christoph Bösch
flute
Toshiko Sakakibara
bass clarinet
Mihaly Fliegauf
contraforte
Aurélien Tschopp
horn
Michael Büttler
trombone
Daniel Stalder
percussion
Mauricio Silva Orendain
arciorgano
Kirill Zvegintsov
piano
Samuel Wettstein
piano
Friedemann Treiber
violin
David Sontòn Caflisch
violin
Petra Ackermann
viola
Stéphanie Meyer
cello
Martin Jaggi
cello
electronics
Phœnix

Davidovsky +

Concert in collaboration with the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK), class for electro-acoustic composition Germán Toro Pérez

Mario Davidovsky’s “Synchronisms” are masterpieces of instrumental music with playback tape, which we had already planned in 2020 but were unable to perform due to the coronavirus. Instead, a double LP was created. For the new edition of the idea of playing Davidovsky’s music in concert, we were able to win the ICST of the ZHdK as a co-production partner. This collaboration will result in seven new compositions by students for the same instrumentation.

Mario Davidovsky is one of the great figures of American New Music – but has hardly been played in Europe. As a pioneer of electronic music, he was already working at the “Columbia-Princeton Electronic Music Center” in 1960. His work includes by far not only electronic music. His most famous works, the “Synchronisms”, a series of over a dozen works written over a period of more than 40 years, have influenced generations of composers. In combining “classical” instruments with pre-produced electronic sounds, Davidovsky, unlike many other composers of this genre, is not interested in special “sound effects” in any way, but rather seeks a fusion of instrumental sound with electronics, resulting in both continuity and intrinsic musical expression. The earliest “Synchronisms” date from a time when today’s sound technology was still in its infancy, but they are nevertheless masterpieces without equal; the long time span in which the “Synchronisms” were created also documents the technical progress in this field over the time. In addition to a large number of awards for his work, Mario Davidovsky received the Pulitzer Prize in 1971 explicitly for his work “Synchronisms No. 6”.


Program

Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) “Synchronisms No. 1” for flute and electronic sounds (1963) – 4’21’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) “Synchronisms No. 3” for cello and electronic sounds (1964) – 5’03’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) “Synchronisms No. 6” for piano and electronic sounds (1970) – 7’32’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) “Synchronisms No. 9” for violin and tape (1988) – 8’52’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) “Synchronisms No. 10” for guitar and tape (1992) – 9’50’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) “Synchronisms No. 11” for contrabass and electronic sounds (2005) – 7’23’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) “Synchronisms No. 12” for clarinet and electronic sounds (2006) – 6’34’’ Students of ZHdK: Joan Jordi Oliver Arcos (*1994) New Work for contrabass and electronics (WP, commission EPhB) – 8–10’ Nuño Fernández Ezquerra (*1992) New Work for electric guitar and electronics (WP, commission EPhB) – 5–7’ Felix Friedrich (*2003) New Work for cello and electronics (WP, commission EPhB) – 7–9’ Seçil Metin (*1994) New Work for piano and electronics (WP, commission EPhB) – 6–7’ Andrzej Ojczenasz (*1992) New Work for flute and electronics (WP, commission EPhB) – ca. 5’ Martin Reck (*1989) New Work for clarinet and electronics (WP, commission EPhB) – 4–6’ Franziska Wilhelm (*2003) New Work for violin and electronics (WP, commission EPhB) – ca. 6’
Christoph Bösch
flute
Toshiko Sakakibara
clarinet
Maurizio Grandinetti
guitar, electric guitar
Ludovic Van Hellemont
piano
Friedemann Treiber
violin
Stéphanie Meyer
cello
Aleksander Gabryś
double bass
sound design
Jürg Henneberger
supervision
Germán Toro Pérez
supervision
Phœnix

In Memoriam Peter Eötvös

In Memoriam Peter Eötvös (2.1.1944–24.3.2024)

We are planning a memorial concert for the important Hungarian composer and conductor Peter Eötvös, who died unexpectedly on March 24 this year, with three ensemble works that Eötvös wrote over a period of 32 years. Our guest conductor is the Hungarian composer, clarinettist and conductor Gregory Vajda. He has been the program director of the “Peter Eötvös Contemporary Music Foundation” in Budapest since 2018.


Program

Peter Eötvös (1944–2024) “Sequences of the Wind” for flute and ensemble (1975–2002) – 29’ Peter Eötvös (1944–2024) “Octet” for flute, clarinet, 2 bassoons, 2 trumpets and 2 trombones (2007) – 15’ Peter Eötvös (1944–2024) “Brass – The Metal Space” actions for 7 brass players and 2 percussionists without conductor (1990) – 22’
Gregory Vajda
conductor
Christoph Bösch
flute, alto flute, piccolo
Antje Thierbach
oboe, English horn
Richard Haynes
clarinet
clarinet
bass clarinet
Edurne Santos Arrastua
bassoon
Mihaly Fliegauf
bassoon
Aurélien Tschopp
horn
horn
Nenad Marković
trumpet
trumpet
Michael Büttler
trombone
trombone
Janne Jakobsson
tuba
Nejc Grm
accordion
João Pacheco
percussion
Daniel Stalder
percussion
Aleksander Gabryś
double bass
Phœnix

Dada

An immanent musical-theatrical firework spectacle for and with Svea Schildknecht.

György Ligeti’s only opera “Le Grand Macabre” is based on a play by the Belgian poet Michel de Ghelderode, one of the most important representatives of absurdist theater alongside Eugène Jonesco, Alfred Jarry and Samuel Beckett. The arrangement of three arias for coloratura soprano and ensemble was written by Elgar Howard, who was the study director of the premiere of the opera at Stockholm in 1978. The German composer Manfred Stahnke, who studied with Ligeti in Hamburg and now teaches composition there himself, wrote his work “Lumpengalerie” in 1999, based on a recorded improvisation that was reworked into a sextet. The South Korean composer Unsuk Chin wrote the ensemble piece “Gougalon” in 2009 after a visit to the suburbs of Seoul in memory of the old, impoverished neighborhood of the 1960s where she spent her childhood. She describes the work as “imagined folk music”.


Program

Manfred Stahnke (*1951) “Lumpengalerie” for six instruments (1999) – 14’ György Ligeti (1923–2006) “Mysteries of the Macabre” for coloratura soprano and ensemble (1974–1977, arr. Elgar Howarth 1992) – 9’ Unsuk Chin (*1961) “Gougalon – Scenes from a Street Theater” for big ensemble (2009/11) – 24’
Svea Schildknecht
coloratura soprano
Jürg Henneberger
conductor
Christoph Bösch
flute
Antje Thierbach
oboe
Toshiko Sakakibara
clarinet
Edurne Santos Arrastua
bassoon
Aurélien Tschopp
horn
Nenad Marković
trumpet
Antonio Jiménez Marín
trombone
Denise Wambsganß
mandoline
Daniel Stalder
percussion
João Pacheco
percussion
Kirill Zvegintsov
piano
piano
Friedemann Treiber
violin
Daniel Hauptmann
violin
Petra Ackermann
viola
Martin Jaggi
cello
Stéphanie Meyer
cello
Aleksander Gabryś
double bass

Phœnix

Vigilia

Konzert in Zusammenarbeit mit der «SCHOLA HEIDELBERG» (Leitung: Ekkehard Windrich)

Das Oeuvre des deutschen Komponisten und Musikwissenschaftlers Wolfgang Rihm ist immens. Neben drei Sinfonien, neun Opern und einer grossen Anzahl an Solo- und Kammermusikwerken nimmt «Vigilia» als eine der eindrücklichsten Kompositionen in seinem Schaffen einen ganz besonderen Platz ein. Diese Musik schafft es, sowohl für Kenner:innen als auch für wenig gewohnte Hörer:innen Neuer Musik direkt zugänglich zu sein. Vigilien sind in der katholischen Liturgie Nachtwachen, die in Schriftlesungen oder Gebeten verbracht werden und in der Konzentration der Dunkelheit auf besondere kirchliche Feste, zumal das Osterfest, vorbereiten sollen. Rihm bezieht sich auf diesen Brauch und die alte musikgeschichtliche Tradition des Responsorienzyklus’, wie sie etwa durch Carlo Gesualdo (1560–1613) geprägt wurde. Als Textgrundlage dienten Wolfgang Rihm sieben Passionstexte, die von einem sechsstimmigen Gesangsensemble a capella gesungen werden. Diese Motetten werden jeweils unterbrochen durch instrumentale Interludien (Sonata I–VII). Im umfangreichsten letzten Teil (Miserere) musizieren dann das Instrumental- und das Vokal-Ensemble gemeinsam.


Programm

Wolfgang Rihm (*1952) «Vigilia» für sechs Stimmen und Ensemble (2001–2006) – 65'
Jürg Henneberger
Musikalische Leitung
Ekkehard Windrich
Chordirektor
Sarah M. Newman
Sopran
Julie C. Eggli
Alt
Johannes Mayer
Tenor
Jörg Deutschewitz
Tenor
Ansgar Theis
Bariton
Florian Drexel
Bass
Toshiko Sakakibara
Klarinette
Aurélien Tschopp
Horn
Mikael Rudolfsson
Posaune
Michael Büttler
Posaune
Janne Jakobsson
Tuba
Daniel Stalder
Schlagzeug
Nicolas Venner
Orgel
Petra Ackermann
Viola
Benedikt Böhlen
Violoncello
Aleksander Gabryś
Kontrabass
Phœnix

Nosferatu

Friedrich Wilhelm Murnau (1888–1931) / Jannik Giger (*1985): «Nosferatu – Eine Symphonie des Grauens» (1922/2017)

Jannik Giger ist als Komponist und Filmemacher gewohnt Spartengrenzen auszuloten und zu überwinden. Projekte von und mit ihm tragen immer seine unverwechselbare Handschrift. Die Affinität zum Film lassen ihn Murnaus Klassiker «Nosferatu» sensibel und stimmig in Musik setzen, ohne je plakativ oder illustrativ zu werden.

Für seine Neuvertonung des Stummfilmklassikers «Nosferatu – Eine Symphonie des Grauens» (1922), die 2017 am Musikfestival Bern zur Uraufführung kam, griff Jannik Giger auf Versatzstücke aus Soundtracks zu Filmen von David Lynch oder Alfred Hitchcock sowie auf Fragmente aus der romantischen Klangwelt Franz Schuberts zurück. Diese Reminiszenzen geistern zum einen als zugespielte Samples und zum anderen in kompositorischer Neuschöpfung für vierzehn Instrumentalist:innen durch die Partitur und verbinden so die Historizität des Films mit der Gegenwart seiner Aufführung. In der Transformation dieser Spuren klingender Vergangenheit und ihrer Gegenüberstellung mit live agierenden Musiker:innen verwischt Giger die Trennlinien zwischen realer und virtueller Klangerzeugung. Er löst den herkömmlichen filmmusikalischen Orchesterklang auf, indem er ihn wiederum mit einer Soundcollage verfremdeter Orchesterklänge überschreibt. Das ist von berauschender Klangsinnlichkeit und fügt sich geschickt in die poetische Bildwelt Friedrich Wilhelm Murnaus, unterstreicht die Dramaturgie des Films und bleibt dennoch eine eigenständige Sinneinheit. Ferner weist Gigers Komposition ihre Zitatebene immer wieder als solche aus und wird so zur Reflektion über Wesen und Wirkung von Filmmusik. (Moritz Achermann)


Programm

Jannik Giger (*1985) «Nosferatu – Eine Symphonie des Grauens» für Ensemble und Elektronik (mit Film) (2017) – 90’
Jürg Henneberger
Musikalische Leitung
Christoph Bösch
Flöte
Toshiko Sakakibara
Bassklarinette
Mihaly Fliegauf
Kontraforte
Aurélien Tschopp
Horn
Michael Büttler
Posaune
Daniel Stalder
Schlagzeug
Mauricio Silva Orendain
Arciorgano
Kirill Zvegintsov
Klavier
Samuel Wettstein
Klavier
Friedemann Treiber
Violine
David Sontòn Caflisch
Violine
Petra Ackermann
Viola
Stéphanie Meyer
Violoncello
Martin Jaggi
Violoncello
Elektronik
Phœnix

Davidovsky +

Konzert in Zusammenarbeit mit der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK), Klasse für elektroakustische Komposition Germán Toro Pérez

Mario Davidovskys «Synchronisms» sind Meisterwerke der Instrumentalmusik mit Zuspielband, die wir bereits 2020 geplant hatten, aber Corona-bedingt nicht aufführen konnten. Stattdessen ist eine Doppel-LP entstanden. Für die Neuauflage der Idee, Davidovskys Musik im Konzert zu spielen, konnten wir als Koproduktionspartner das ICST der ZHdK gewinnen. In dieser Zusammenarbeit entstehen sieben neue Kompositionen von Studierenden für die gleichen Besetzungen.

Mario Davidovsky ist eine der ganz grossen Figuren der Amerikanischen Neuen Musik – in Europa jedoch bisher kaum gespielt. Als Pionier der Elektronischen Musik arbeitete er bereits 1960 am «Columbia-Princeton Electronic Music Center». Sein Werk umfasst bei weitem nicht nur elektronische Musik. Seine berühmtesten Werke, die «Synchronisms», eine Reihe von über einem Dutzend Werken, die in einem Zeitraum von mehr als 40 Jahren entstanden sind, prägten Generationen von Komponist:innen. Bei der Kombination «klassischer» Instrumente mit vorproduzierten elektronischen Klängen interessiert sich Davidovsky im Unterschied zu vielen anderen Komponist:innen dieses Genres in keiner Weise für besondere «Sound Effects», sondern sucht nach einer Verschmelzung des Instrumentalklanges mit der Elektronik, woraus sowohl Kontinuität als auch immanenter musikalischer Ausdruck entstehen. Die frühesten «Synchronisms» entstammen einer Zeit, in der unsere heutige «sound technology» noch in den Kinderschuhen steckte, sind aber nichts desto trotz Meisterwerke, die ihresgleichen suchen; die lange Zeitspanne, in der die «Synchronisms» entstanden sind, dokumentiert ausserdem den technischen Fortschritt auf diesem Gebiet im Lauf der Zeit. Neben ungewöhnlich vielen Auszeichnungen für sein Schaffen erhielt Mario Davidovsky im Jahr 1971 explizit für sein Werk «Synchronisms No. 6» den Pulitzer-Preis.


Programm

Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) «Synchronisms No. 1» für Flöte und Tonband (1963) – 4’21’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) «Synchronisms No. 3» für Violoncello und Tonband (1964) – 5’03’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) «Synchronisms No. 6» für Klavier und Tonband (1970) – 7’32’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) «Synchronisms No. 9» für Violine und Tonband (1988) – 8’52’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) «Synchronisms No. 10» für Gitarre und Tonband (1992) – 9’50’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) «Synchronisms No. 11» für Kontrabass und Tonband (2005) – 7’23’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) «Synchronisms No. 12» für Klarinette und Tonband (2006) – 6’34’’ Studierende der ZHdK: Joan Jordi Oliver Arcos (*1994) Neues Werk für Kontrabass und Elektronik (UA, Auftrag EPhB) – 8–10’ Nuño Fernández Ezquerra (*1992) Neues Werk für E-Gitarre und Elektronik (UA, Auftrag EPhB) – 5–7’ Felix Friedrich (*2003) Neues Werk für Violoncello und Elektronik (UA, Auftrag EPhB) – 7–9’ Seçil Metin (*1994) Neues Werk für Klavier und Elektronik (UA, Auftrag EPhB) – 6–7’ Andrzej Ojczenasz (*1992) Neues Werk für Flöte und Elektronik (UA, Auftrag EPhB) – ca. 5’ Martin Reck (*1989) Neues Werk für Klarinette und Elektronik (UA, Auftrag EPhB) – 4–6’ Franziska Wilhelm (*2003) Neues Werk für Violine und Elektronik (UA, Auftrag EPhB) – ca. 6’
Christoph Bösch
Flöte
Toshiko Sakakibara
Klarinette
Maurizio Grandinetti
Gitarre, E-Gitarre
Ludovic Van Hellemont
Klavier
Friedemann Treiber
Violine
Stéphanie Meyer
Violoncello
Aleksander Gabryś
Kontrabass
Sounddesign
Jürg Henneberger
Supervision
Germán Toro Pérez
Supervision
Phœnix

In Memoriam Peter Eötvös

In Memoriam Peter Eötvös (2.1.1944–24.3.2024)

Für den bedeutenden ungarischen Komponisten und Dirigenten Peter Eötvös, der am 24. März dieses Jahres überraschend gestorben ist, planen wir ein Memorialkonzert mit drei Ensemblewerken, die Eötvös im Zeitsaum von 32 Jahren geschrieben hat. Unser Gastdirigent ist der ungarische Komponist, Klarinettist und Dirigent Gregory Vajda. Seit 2018 ist er der Programmdirektor der «Peter Eötvös Contemporary Music Foundation» in Budapest.


Programm

Peter Eötvös (1944–2024) «Windsequenzen» für Flöte und Ensemble (1975–2002) – 29’ Peter Eötvös (1944–2024) «Oktett» für Flöte, Klarinette, 2 Fagotte, 2 Trompeten und 2 Posaunen (2007) – 15’ Peter Eötvös (1944–2024) «Brass – The Metal Space» Aktionsstück für 7 Blechbläser und 2 Schlagzeuger ohne Dirigent (1990) – 22’
Gregory Vajda
Musikalische Leitung
Christoph Bösch
Flöte, Altflöte, Piccolo
Antje Thierbach
Oboe, Englischhorn
Richard Haynes
Klarinette
Klarinette
Bassklarinette
Edurne Santos Arrastua
Fagott
Mihaly Fliegauf
Fagott
Aurélien Tschopp
Horn
Horn
Nenad Marković
Trompete
Trompete
Michael Büttler
Posaune
Posaune
Janne Jakobsson
Tuba
Nejc Grm
Akkordeon
João Pacheco
Schlagzeug
Daniel Stalder
Schlagzeug
Aleksander Gabryś
Kontrabass
Phœnix

Dada

Ein immanent musik-theatralisches Feuerwerk für und mit Svea Schildknecht.

György Ligetis einzige Oper «Le Grand Macabre» basiert auf einem Theaterstück des belgischen Dichters Michel de Ghelderode, neben Eugène Jonesco, Alfred Jarry und Samuel Beckett einem bedeutenden Vertreter des absurden Theaters. Von Elgar Howard, der 1978 die Uraufführung der Oper in Stockholm einstudiert hatte, stammt das Arrangement dreier Arien für Koloratursopran und Ensemble. Der deutsche Komponist Manfred Stahnke, der bei Ligeti in Hamburg studiert hat und jetzt selbst dort Komposition unterrichtet, schrieb 1999 sein Werk «Lumpengalerie», basierend auf einer aufgezeichneten Improvisation, die zu einem Sextett umgearbeitet wurde. Die Südkoreanische Komponistin Unsuk Chin schrieb nach einem Besuch der Vororte Seouls 2009 das Ensemblestück «Gougalon» in Erinnerung an das alte, verarmte Wohnviertel der 1960er Jahre, in dem sie ihre Kindheit verbracht hat. Sie beschreibt das Werk als «imaginierte Volksmusik».


Programm

Manfred Stahnke (*1951) «Lumpengalerie» für sechs Instrumente (1999) – 14’ György Ligeti (1923–2006) «Mysteries of the Macabre» für Koloratursopran und Ensemble (1974–1977, arr. Elgar Howarth 1992) – 9’ Unsuk Chin (*1961) «Gougalon – Scenes from a Street Theater» für grosses Ensemble (2009/11) – 24’
Svea Schildknecht
Koloratursopran
Jürg Henneberger
Musikalische Leitung
Christoph Bösch
Flöte
Antje Thierbach
Oboe
Toshiko Sakakibara
Klarinette
Edurne Santos Arrastua
Fagott
Aurélien Tschopp
Horn
Nenad Marković
Trompete
Antonio Jiménez Marín
Posaune
Denise Wambsganß
Mandoline
Daniel Stalder
Schlagzeug
João Pacheco
Schlagzeug
Kirill Zvegintsov
Klavier
Klavier
Friedemann Treiber
Violine
Daniel Hauptmann
Violine
Petra Ackermann
Viola
Martin Jaggi
Violoncello
Stéphanie Meyer
Violoncello
Aleksander Gabryś
Kontrabass