In 1998, the Ensemble Phoenix Basel appears on the cultural landscape in Basel. The conductor and pianist Jürg Henneberger, the flutist Christoph Bösch and the percussionist Daniel Buess come together and found an ensemble that has since advanced to become one of the most important of its kind in Switzerland and also enjoys international renown. Daniel Buess died tragically in 2016. However, his musical ideas and visions will continue to carry the Ensemble Phoenix Basel into the future. From day one, the ensemble has helped shape the cultural life of its hometown of Basel as a flexible contemporary music ensemble. With variable, flexible, but not arbitrary instrumentation – from a trio to thirty musicians – ideal performance forms for contemporary composing are cultivated. Their work is characterized by a high degree of initiative on the part of the players, a great deal of commitment and vision. Impulses and preferences of the individual musical personalities are included, implemented and above all appreciated. The own programs, mainly performed in Basel’s “Gare du Nord”, are also performed in other Swiss cities and abroad. For additional productions, the International Society for New Music, Theater Basel, Zeiträume Basel, the Wien Modern music festival, the Wiener Festwochen and the Berliner Festspiele are partners. The commissioning of works and the premiere of new pieces, is specifically pursued as a support program. In addition, pieces or entire concerts are developed in collaboration with artists from the fields of noise, sound art, free improv and electronica. Currently, after the Corona Pandemic, the ensemble is beginning to map out the near future, to put out feelers and wings in order to examine a contemporary orientation that will set new standards nationally and internationally.

Christoph
Bösch

flutes

Christoph Bösch *1969, is founding member, flutist and manager of the EPhB. He studied in the class of Felix Manz in Basel with further impulses from the flutists Aurèle Nicolet, Robert Winn and William Bennett. In addition to his main engagement from the beginning at the EPhB and his specialization in new forms of music, he is on the road as a chamber musician and soloist, teaches at “Regionale Musik Schule” in Liestal, and since 2016, together with his friends from the Ensemble “Cordaeola”, he runs his own chamber music series across musical genres, will be the artistic director “Festspiele Südtirol” from 2023, gives masterclasses and is a sought-after juror. Christoph Bösch ventures beyond preconceived boundaries of musical genres and is a member of the Sarah Chaksad Large Ensemble.

Antje
Thierbach

oboe

Antje Thierbach *1970 in East Berlin, studied oboe in Leipzig, Würzburg and Berlin, among others with Burckhardt Glaetzner, historical performance practice and historical oboes with Katharina Arfken at the Schola Cantorum Basilensis. As the daughter of an orchestral musician, she works freelance out of experience, passion and conviction and since 2017 with the EPhB. An important part of her artistic work is scenic/theatrical work in various constellations with dancers and actors such as Sasha Waltz and Guest, with Christoph Marthaler and in her own projects. Since 2011 she teaches historical performance practice and baroque oboe as well as new playing techniques on the oboe at the Hochschule für Musik “Hanns Eisler” Berlin.

Toshiko
Sakakibara

clarinets

Toshiko Sakakibara *1963 born in Tsuchiura. First studies in Japan at the Tokyo College of Music with Prof. Isamu Omori and at the Toho Gakuen Conservatory with Prof. Risei Kitazume. Subsequent studies with Karl Leister in Tokyo and Berlin and with Elmar Schmid in Zurich. 1996-2002 clarinettist in the Zurich Chamber Orchestra. Toshiko Sakakibara lives as a freelance musician in Basel from where she is active as an internationally sought-after chamber musician; she is a member of Sir András Schiff’s Cappella Andrea Barca. In addition to her work in several ensembles, her interest in contemporary music occupies a central place in the EPhB.

Lucas
Röẞner

bassoon, contraforte

Lucas A. Rößner *1971 in Naumburg an der Saale. Extensive bassoon studies in Leipzig with Werner Seltmann and in Basel with Sergio Azzolini. Since 1999 active as a freelance musician in Switzerland and Germany. He is currently a member of the Basel Sinfonietta and plays in many other ensembles in Switzerland, in addition to his engagement with the EPhB. He teaches bassoon at the music schools in Dornach and Liestal. Since 2008 he has been a teacher for the Feldenkrais Method. He has been organizing the Sunday matinees in Merian Gärten in Basel on behalf of the Christoph Merian Foundation since 2010. As a speaker and actor he seeks the connection between theater, music and dance. Since 2018 intensive engagement with the dance style GAGA.

Raphael
Camenisch

saxophones

Raphael Camenisch *1975 is one of the most innovative and versatile saxophonists of his generation. He expresses his passion as a musician in the most diverse formations; in several chamber music ensembles, in crossover projects, as a soloist or in duo with electronics. His stylistic range and versatility play a central role. He is equally committed to the “traditional, classical” saxophone literature, contemporary music as well as electro-acoustic music and free improvisation. He has participated in the premiere of numerous works. He pursues a versatile engagement as a soloist and chamber musician and has made a name for himself especially as an interpreter of contemporary music.

Nenad
Marković

trumpet

Nenad Marković *1983 in Novi Sad, is a trumpet player and pedagogue and active in the fields of classical, contemporary and improvised music. As a member of numerous ensembles and orchestras, he collaborates with many composers of our time and has premiered almost 200 compositions over the years. In addition to being a member of the EPhB for almost 20 years, he is also a regular guest musician with Ensemble Modern Frankfurt and Klangforum Wien. He is a professor of trumpet at the Novi Sad Academy of Music and gives master classes at music conservatories worldwide. He is also a regular jury member at international competitions.

Aurélien
Tschopp

horn

Aurélien Tschopp *1992 in Neuchâtel. He received his first lessons with Claudio Pontiggia at the Conservatoire La Chaux-de-Fonds and with Heiner Krause at Musikschule Basel. He then continued his education with Christian Lampert, Jan Golebiowski and Thomas Müllerin at Musikhochschule Basel. He completed a master degree in pedagogy. During his studies he played with youth orchestras in Switzerland, France and Romania. Within the framework of various master classes and competitions, he received inspirations from Johannes Hinterholzer, Thomas Hauschild and Carsten Duffin. He is co-founder of the Avensemble Quintett with which he promotes the further development of the repertoire for wind quintet. He completed an internship in the Bern Symphony Orchestra. At the same time he took lessons with Christian Holenstein.

Michael
Büttler

trombone

Michael Büttler *1969 was born in Landshut/Lower Bavaria. He completed his music studies at the Universities of Music in Munich and Frankfurt. As a freelance musician, he worked with many orchestras and ensembles, developing his artistic focus in the field of contemporary music. In addition to EPhB, he is a member of HORNROH – Modern Alphorn Quartet and has also been a regular guest musician with Ensemble Modern Frankfurt and many other contemporary music ensembles since 1989. In addition to his work as a freelance musician, he devotes part of his time to teaching at the Musik-Akademie Basel.

Janne
Jakobsson

tuba

Janne Matias Jakobsson is considered a passionate interpreter of contemporary music. He has been a member of the EPhB since 2017. He has performed with Ensemble Modern and Insomnio Ensemble. As a soloist, he can be found at many contemporary music festivals. Other performances with orchestras such as Sinfonia Lahti and Basel Sinfonietta are among his activities. He was a guest musician with the rock band Bon Jovi. CDs with his participation have been released by NEOS, col legno and Genuin. A working grant from the Swedish Cultural Foundation in Finland (2016) enabled him to explore his instrument and skills in greater depth. Janne is a co-founder of the brass quintet Ensemble Schwerpunkt. This ensemble won national and international competitions and recorded a debut CD.

Maurizio
Grandinetti

guitar

Maurizio Grandinetti’s main interest lies in expanding the musical horizons of his instrument, the classical guitar and the electric guitar, in diverse combinations with electronic instruments. He is currently active as a soloist, chamber musician, improviser and member of new music ensembles. Elliott Sharp, Alex Buess, Volker Heyn, Giorgio Netti and Junghae Lee (among others) have written for him. He is a lecturer at the Conservatory of Music in Como (Italy). Webseite

Consuelo
Giulianelli

harp

Consuelo Giulianelli *1965 born in Rapallo. She completed her harp studies in Verona with Mirella Vita and in Basel with Ursula Holliger with honors. She was solo harpist in the Lucerne Symphony Orchestra and Musikkollegium Winterthur. Currently she is the principal harpist of the Basel Chamber Orchestra. As a freelance chamber musician she plays in the Duo Guitarp with Maurizio Grandinetti, in the Ensemble Cordaeola with Christoph Bösch and Toshiko Sakakibara and in the Camerata Variabile Basel with Helena Winkelman. Her solo CD Saeya saeya presents her as a harpist and singer. During the pandemic she has published a new harp school “Harpsodie” together with harpist Marion Navarro. She satisfies her curiosity for contemporary music with the EPhB.

Manuel
Bärtsch

piano

Manuel Bärtsch grew up in St.Gallen/CH. He completed his studies at the Musikhochschule Basel in the piano class of Jürg Wyttenbach and in chamber music with Walter Levin and Hatto Beyerle with the soloist diploma with distinction. This was followed by prizes as a chamber musician at international competitions in Stuttgart, Berlin and Graz. As a soloist, he has performed with the Basel Symphony Orchestra and the Orchestre National de Lyon, among others. His wide-ranging solo and chamber music repertoire, his collaboration with contemporary composers and his fundamental research on romantic piano playing result in an artistic profile beyond the usual categorizations. Manuel Bärtsch is professor and research lecturer at the Bern University of the Arts.

Ludovic Van
Hellemont

piano

Ludovic Van Hellemont *1985 born in Belgium, studied at the Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel with Jan Michiels, at the Hochschule für Musik Basel with Claudio Martinez Mehner, and at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis with Edoardo Torbianelli. Since 2017, he has been an important protagonist of the contemporary Swiss music scene as solo pianist of the Basel Sinfonietta and the EPhB, among others. Adorned with a variety of keyboard instruments from the clavichord to the ondes martenot, he takes both a tradition-conscious and an experimental stance. His artistic activity is evidenced by recordings, video productions and extensive concert activity in Europe, Asia and Australia.

Samuel
Wettstein

keyboards

Samuel Wettstein *1971 born and raised in St. Gallen. He studied piano with Jürg Wyttenbach and Jean-Jacques Dünki at the Hochschule für Musik in Basel. As a pianist and keyboardist he plays in various formations of different styles – New Music, New Improvised Music and Jazz / Rock / Pop – and was involved in numerous world premieres as well as radio and CD productions. He is a founding member of the Albanian jazz band Kapsamun, the ensemble Katarakt and the trio Mo’Wings. He also plays, composes and produces music for theater, film and dance and is intensively involved in electronic music, audio design and percussion. He teaches a piano class at the Musik-Akademie Basel.

Friedemann
Treiber

violin

Friedemann Amadeus Treiber *1971 in Offenburg. He received his first violin lessons at the age of 5 from his brother Felix. After studying with Prof. Wolfgang Marschner and Prof. Hansheinz Schneeberger, he received his teaching and soloist diploma for violin with distinction at the Basel Academy of Music in 1991/92. He has won prizes at national and international competitions and, in addition to radio and CD recordings, performs internationally as a chamber musician and soloist. His repertoire includes works for solo violin, violin concertos and chamber music of all epochs. He is concertmaster of the EPhB, member of the Basel Sinfonietta and primarius of the Ensemble Aventure. He plays piano and viola and develops an extensive activity as a composer. Since 2016 he is lecturer for violin at the Kalaidos University of Music Switzerland.

Petra
Ackermann

viola

Petra Ackermann was born in Klagenfurt. Studied at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna, at the Royal Academy Of Music London and with Garth Knox in Paris. Dedicatee of numerous works. As a soloist and chamber musician she regularly performs at festivals such as Wien Modern, Musikprotokoll Graz, Klangspuren Schwatz. She is a member of the Mondrian Ensemble Basel, the Ensemble Wiener Collage and the Ensemble phace contemporary music. Regular collaboration with musicians from the fields of jazz and electronic music, including David Liebmann, Peter Herbert, Theo Bleckmann, James Blood Ulmer, Wayne Horvitz, Elliott Sharp and Fennes. 2009 Promotion Award for Music of the Province of Carinthia.

Alessandro
D’Amico

viola

Alessandro D’Amico *1986 born in Caracas, attended the Music School Montalban in Caracas. From 2002 he studied with Prof. Gerard Caussè and Prof. Rainer Schmidt at Escuela Superior de Musica Reina Sofia and from 2004-2006 with Prof. Peter Langgartner at the Mozarteum in Salzburg. From 2002-2009 he was violist in the Simon Bolivar Youth Orchestra with conductors such as Giuseppe Sinopoli, Claudio Abbado, and Gustavo Dudamel. He attended master classes with Nobuko Imai, Veronika Hagen, and Atar Arad, among others. From 2009 he studied at the Hochschule für Musik in Basel in the graduate course for string quartets with Prof. Walter Levin and viola with Silvia Simionescu. He is a member of the Merel Quartet, Camerata Variabile, EPhB and Capella Andrea Barca.

Martin
Jaggi

cello

Martin Jaggi was born *1978 in Basel. He studied violoncello and composition in Basel, Zurich and Hamburg. From 2000 to 2013 he was a member of the Mondrian Ensemble Basel, which he co-founded. He is also the solo cellist of the basel sinfonietta. As a composer, Martin Jaggi receives commissions from renowned ensembles and festivals and his works experience many performances in numerous countries in Europe, Asia and America. He lives and works in Singapore and Basel. Martin Jaggi has been a member of the EPhB since 2010.

Stéphanie
Meyer

cello

Stéphanie Meyer *1977 born in Montréal, She receives her musical education at the conservatory of her hometown from Dorothy Bégin, at McGill University with Antonio Lysy and at the Music Academy Basel with Thomas Demenga. She later turned to playing the baroque cello under the tutelage of Christophe Coin at the Schola Cantorum Basel. She is a guest at music festivals in Germany, Switzerland and England. She is grateful for formative encounters with musicians such as Steven Isserlis, Janos Starker, Mstislav Rostropovitch, Anner Bylsma, Erich Höbarth and Sergio Azzolini. She was, among others, principal cellist of the Camerata Bern and participated in projects of the Cappella Andrea Barca under András Schiff. She has been teaching at the Basel Music School since 2010.

Aleksander
Gabryś

double bass

Aleksander Gabryś *1974, has been playing with the EPhB since 2001. He is a double bassist, performer, composer and winner of several composition and interpretation competitions and performs as a soloist with various orchestras. Concerts have taken him to New York, Stanford, Buenos Aires, Saõ Paulo, Venice, Paris and Vienna, among others. Numerous composers have written double bass works especially for him. His artistic work includes chamber music and solo double bass pieces, as well as computer music of the Neo-Expressionist avant-garde. In 2022 he presented his music theater “The Beelzebub Sonata” and composed a sextet for Sound Plasma Festival Berlin. He is president of the “freagroup studio” for polymedial, para-theatrical acts.

Daniel
Stalder

percussion

Daniel Stalder studied percussion in Basel with Siegfried Schmid and graduated with teaching, orchestral and concert diplomas. Since the founding of the ensemble in 1998, he has played regularly in the EPhB. He plays other concerts and projects with Basel Sinfonietta, the percussion duo HOW2, Ensemble für Neue Musik Zürich, Basler Schlagzeugensemble, Ensemble Paul Klee Bern and Sextuor de percussions des 3 frontières.

João
Pacheco

percussion

João Carlos Pacheco *1988 is a Portuguese musician who uses drums and percussion as a means for developing new creations in the field of contemporary music. His concert activity as a percussionist is extended by his work in electroacoustic music, composition and collaboration in multidisciplinary projects. He is a member of Ensemble Inverspace, EPhB, Ensemble of Nomads, TAL Trio and Tin Drum Duo. His performances at festivals and concert series include Wien Modern, ECLAT (Stuttgart), Lucerne Festival, ULTIMA Festival (Oslo), Gogol Festival (Kiev), ManiFeste IRCAM (Paris), reMusik (St. Petersburg). Since 2013 he lives in Basel.

Thomas
Peter

electronics

Thomas Peter *1971 is a musician, composer and lecturer and studied audio design and improvisation at the Musikakademie Basel. He has been active in the fields of composing electroacoustic music, improvised music and sound installations for over 20 years and lectures at the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK). He lives and works in Zurich. His concert activities include performances as a solo artist and as an interpreter of contemporary music in Europe, Asia, North and South America. His solo concerts and compositions are situated between improvised electronic music and multi-channel, acoustic space-filling laptop performances.

Jürg
Henneberger

conductor

The conductor and pianist Jürg Henneberger, born in Lucerne *1957, studied in Basel with Jürg Wyttenbach and in Hamburg with Klauspeter Seibel and Christoph von Dohnànyi. He taught at the Hochschule für Musik Basel from 1989 to 2022. He is the artistic director of EPhB which he founded in 1998 and specializes in contemporary music. From 1998-2014 he was president of the International Society for New Music (IGNM) Basel. He is also a widely sought-after musical director of major ballet and opera productions. Since 2009 he was professor and, together with Mike Svoboda and Marcus Weiss, artistic director of the newly founded Master’s program in Musical Performance Contemporary Music.

1998 erscheint das Ensemble Phoenix Basel in der Kulturlandschaft in Basel. Der Dirigent und Pianist Jürg Henneberger, der Flötist Christoph Bösch und der Schlagzeuger Daniel Buess finden zusammen und gründen ein Ensemble, das mittlerweile zu den wichtigsten dieser Art der Schweiz avanciert ist und auch internationales Renommee geniesst. Daniel Buess verstarb 2016 auf tragische Weise. Seine musikalischen Ideen und Visionen tragen das Ensemble Phoenix Basel aber auch in Zukunft weiter. Vom ersten Tag an prägt das Ensemble als flexibler Klangkörper für zeitgenössische Musik das kulturelle Leben seiner Heimatstadt Basel mit. Mit variabler, flexibler, aber nicht beliebiger Besetzung – vom Trio bis hin zu dreissig Musiker:innen – werden für das zeitgenössische Komponieren ideale Aufführungsformen gepflegt. Hohe Eigeninitiative der Mitspielenden, viel Engagement und Weitblick zeichnet ihre Arbeit aus. Dabei werden Impulse und Vorlieben der einzelnen Musikerpersönlichkeiten einbezogen, umgesetzt und vor allem geschätzt. Die hauptsächlich im Basler «Gare du Nord» gespielten, eigenen Programme werden auch in anderen Schweizer Städten und im Ausland aufgeführt. Für zusätzliche Produktionen stellen die Internationale Gesellschaft für Neue Musik, das Theater Basel, Zeiträume Basel, das Musikfestival Wien Modern, die Wiener Festwochen und die Berliner Festspiele Partner dar. Die Vergabe von Werkaufträgen und die Uraufführung neuer Stücke, wird gezielt als Förderprogramm betrieben. Darüber hinaus werden Stücke oder ganze Konzerte in Zusammenarbeit mit Künstlern aus den Bereichen Noise, Sound Art, Free Improv und Electronica erarbeitet. Aktuell, nach der Corona Pandemie beginnt das Ensemble die nahe Zukunft abzustecken, Fühler und Flügel auszustrecken, um eine zeitgemässe Ausrichtung zu prüfen, die national und international neue Massstäbe setzen wird.

Christoph
Bösch

Flöten

Christoph Bösch *1969, ist Gründungsmitglied, Flötist und Manager des EPhB. Seine Ausbildung durchlief er in der Klasse von Felix Manz in Basel mit weiteren Impulsen von den Flötisten Aurèle Nicolet, Robert Winn und William Bennett. Neben dem Hauptengagement von Beginn an beim EPhB und seiner Spezialisierung auf neue Musikformen ist er als Kammermusiker und Solist unterwegs, unterrichtet an der Regionalen Musikschule in Liestal, beitreibt mit seinen Freunden vom Ensemble „Cordaeola“ seit 2016 eine eigene Kammermusikreihe quer durch musikalische Sparten, ist ab 2023 Intendant der „Festspiele Südtirol“ und gefragter Juror. Christoph Bösch wagt sich über vorgefertigte Genre-Grenzen hinaus und ist Mitglied des Sarah Chaksad Large Ensemble.

Antje
Thierbach

Oboe

Antje Thierbach *1970 in Ostberlin, studierte Oboe in Leipzig, Würzburg und Berlin, u.a. bei Burckhardt Glaetzner, historische Aufführungspraxis und historische Oboen bei Katharina Arfken an der Schola Cantorum Basilensis. Als Tochter eines Orchestermusikers arbeitet Sie aus Erfahrung, Leidenschaft und Überzeugung freischaffend und seit 2017 mit dem EPhB. Ein wichtiger Teil ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit ist die szenisch/theatrale Arbeit in verschiedenen Konstellationen mit Tänzern und Schauspielern wie Sasha Waltz und Guest, mit Christoph Marthaler und bei eigenen Projekten. Seit 2011 unterrichtet sie Historische Aufführungspraxis und Barockoboe sowie Neue Spieltechniken auf der Oboe an der Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ Berlin.

Toshiko
Sakakibara

Klarinetten

Toshiko Sakakibara *1963 geboren in Tsuchiura. Erste Studien in Japan am Tokyo College of Music bei Prof. Isamu Omori und an der Toho Gakuen Musikhochschule bei Prof. Risei Kitazume. Anschliessend Studium bei Karl Leister in Tokyo und Berlin und bei Elmar Schmid in Zürich. 1996–2002 Klarinettistin im Zürcher Kammerorchester. Toshiko Sakaki­bara lebt als freischaffende Musikerin in Basel von wo aus sie als international gefragte Kammermusikerin tätig ist; sie ist Mitglied der Cappella Andrea Barca von Sir András Schiff. Neben der Arbeit in mehreren Ensembles, nimmt die Beschäftigung mit zeitgenössischer Musik im EPhB einen zentralen Platz ein.

Lucas
Röẞner

Fagott, Kontraforte

Lucas A. Rößner *1971 in Naumburg an der Saale. Umfangreiche Fagott-Studien in Leipzig bei Werner Seltmann und in Basel bei Sergio Azzolini. Seit 1999 als freischaffender Musiker in der Schweiz und Deutschland tätig. Aktuell ist er, neben seinem Engagement beim EPhB, Mitglied bei der Basel Sinfonietta und spielt in vielen weiteren Ensembles in der Schweiz. Fagott Unterricht erteilt er an den Musikschulen in Dornach und Liestal. Seit 2008 ist er Lehrer für die Feldenkrais-Methode. Er organisiert im Auftrag der Christoph Merian Stiftung seit 2010 die Sonntagsmatineen in den Merian Gärten in Basel. Als Sprecher und Schauspieler sucht er die Verbindung zwischen Theater, Musik und Tanz. Seit 2018 intensive Beschäftigung mit dem Tanzstil GAGA.

Raphael
Camenisch

Saxophone

Raphael Camenisch *1975 gehört zu den innovativsten und vielseitigsten Saxophonisten seiner Generation. Er bringt seine Leidenschaft als Musiker in verschiedensten Formationen zum Ausdruck; so in etlichen Kammermusikensembles, in Crossover-Projekten, als Solist oder im Duo mit Elektronik. Seine stilistische Bandbreite und Wandlungsfähigkeit spielen dabei eine zentrale Rolle. So gilt sein Engagement gleichermassen der «traditionellen, klassischen» Saxophonliteratur, der Zeitgenössischen Musik wie auch der elektroakustischen Musik und freien Improvisation. Bei zahlreichen Werken hat er an der Uraufführung mitgewirkt. Er verfolgt ein vielseitiges Engagement als Solist und Kammermusiker und hat sich vor allem als Interpret zeitgenössischer Musik einen Namen gemacht.

Nenad
Marković

Trompete

Nenad Marković *1983 in Novi Sad, ist Trompeter und Pädagoge und aktiv in den Bereichen klassischer, zeitgenössischer und improvisierter Musik. Als Mitglied zahlreicher Ensembles und Orchester arbeitet er mit vielen Komponist:innen unserer Zeit zusammen und hat im Laufe der Jahre fast 200 Kompositionen zur Uraufführung gebracht. Neben der fast 20 jährigen Mitgliedschaft beim EPhB ist er auch regelmäßiger Gastmusiker beim Ensemble Modern Frankfurt und dem Klangforum Wien. Er ist Professor für Trompete an der Musikakademie von Novi Sad und gibt Meisterkurse an Musikhochschulen weltweit. Außerdem ist er regelmäßig Jurymitglied bei internationalen Wettbewerben.

Aurélien
Tschopp

Horn

Aurélien Tschopp *1992 in Neuchâtel. Er erhielt seinen ersten Unterricht bei Claudio Pontiggia am Conservatoire La Chaux-de-Fonds und bei Heiner Krause an der Musikschule Basel. Anschliessend führte er seine Ausbildung bei Christian Lampert, Jan Golebiowski und Thomas Müllerin an der Hochschule für Musik Basel weiter. 2018 schloss er seinen Master Pädagogik ab. Während seiner Studienzeit spielte er mit Jugendorchestern in der Schweiz, Frankreich und Rumänien. Im Rahmen verschiedener Meisterkurse und Wettbewerbe bekam er Impulse von Johannes Hinterholzer, Thomas Hauschild und Carsten Duffin. Er ist Mitbegründer des Avensemble Quintett mit dem er die Weiterentwicklung des Repertoires für Bläserquintett fördert. Im Berner Symphonieorchester absolvierte er ein Praktikum. Parallel dazu nahm er Unterricht bei Christian Holenstein.

Michael
Büttler

Posaune

Michael Büttler *1969 wurde in Landshut/Niederbayern geboren. Sein Musikstudium absolvierte er an den Hochschulen für Musik in München und Frankfurt. Als freischaffender Musiker arbeitete er mit vielen Orchestern und Ensembles und entwickelte dabei seinen künstlerischen Schwerpunkt im Bereich der zeitgenössischen Musik. Neben dem EPhB ist er Mitglied bei «HORNROH – Modern Alphornquartet» und zudem seit 1989 regelmäßig Gastmusiker beim Ensemble Modern Frankfurt und vielen anderen Ensembles für zeitgenössische Musik. Neben seiner Arbeit als freischaffender Musiker widmet er einen Teil seiner Zeit dem Unterrichten an der Musik-Akademie Basel.

Janne
Jakobsson

Tuba

Janne Matias Jakobsson gilt als leidenschaftlicher Interpret zeitgenössischer Musik. Er ist seit 2017 Mitglied des EPhB. Er trat mit dem Ensemble Modern und dem Insomnio Ensemble auf. Als Solist ist er auf vielen Festivals für zeitgenössische Musik anzutreffen. Weitere Auftritte mit Orchestern wie Sinfonia Lahti und Basel Sinfonietta zählen zu seinen Aktivitäten. Er war Gastmusiker bei der Rockband Bon Jovi. CDs mit seiner Beteiligung erschienen bei NEOS, col legno und Genuin. Ein Arbeitsstipendium der schwedischen Kulturstiftung in Finnland (2016) ermöglichte Ihm die vertiefte Erforschung seines Instrumentes und seines Könnens. Janne ist Mitbegründer des Blechbläserquintetts Ensembles Schwerpunkt. Diese Ensemble gewann nationale und internationale Wettbewerbe und nahm eine Debut-CD auf.

Maurizio
Grandinetti

Gitarre, E-Gitarre

Maurizio Grandinettis Hauptinteresse liegt in der Erweiterung der musikalischen Horizonte seines Instrumentes, der klassischen Gitarre und die elektrische Gitarre, in vielfältigen Kombinationen mit elektronischen Instrumenten. Zur Zeit ist er als Solist, Kammermusiker, Improvisator und Mitglied von Ensembles für Neue Musik tätig. Fur Ihn haben Elliott Sharp, Alex Buess, Volker Heyn, Giorgio Netti und Junghae Lee (u.a.) geschrieben. Er ist Dozent am Konservatorium für Musik in Como (Italien). Webseite

Consuelo
Giulianelli

Harfe

Consuelo Giulianelli *1965 geboren in Rapallo. Sie schloss ihre Harfenstudien in Verona mit Mirella Vita und in Basel mit Ursula Holliger mit Auszeichnung ab. Sie war Solo Harfenistin im Luzerner Sinfonieorchester und Musikkollegium Winterthur. Aktuell ist sie die Solo Harfenistin des Kammerorchester Basel. Als freischaffende Kammermusikerin spielt sie u.a. im Duo Guitarp mit Maurizio Grandinetti, im Ensemble Cordaeola mit Christoph Bösch und Toshiko Sakakibara und in der Camerata Variabile Basel mit Helena Winkelman. Ihre Solo CD Saeya saeya stellt sie als Harfenistin und Sängerin vor. Während der Pandemie hat sie zusammen mit der Harfenistin Marion Navarro die neue Harfenschule «Harpsodie» herausgegeben. Ihre Neugierde für zeitgenössische Musik stillt sie mit dem EPhB.

Manuel
Bärtsch

Klavier

Manuel Bärtsch wuchs in St.Gallen/CH auf. Seine Studien an der Musikhochschule Basel in der Klavierklasse von Jürg Wyttenbach und im Fach Kammermusik bei Walter Levin und Hatto Beyerle schloss er mit dem Solistendiplom mit Auszeichnung ab. Es folgten Preise als Kammermusiker an Internationalen Wettbewerben in Stuttgart, Berlin und Graz. Als Solist konzertierte er u.a. mit dem Sinfonieorchester Basel und dem Orchestre National de Lyon. Sein weitgespanntes solistisches wie kammermusikalisches Repertoire, die Zusammenarbeit mit zeitgenössischen Komponisten wie auch Grundlagenforschung zum romantischen Klavierspiel ergeben ein künstlerisches Profil abseits der üblichen Kategorisierungen. Manuel Bärtsch ist Professor und Forschungsdozent an der Hochschule der Künste Bern.

Ludovic Van
Hellemont

Klavier

Ludovic Van Hellemont *1985 in Belgien geboren, studierte am Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel bei Jan Michiels, an der Hochschule für Musik Basel bei Claudio Martinez Mehner, sowie an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis bei Edoardo Torbianelli. Seit 2017 ist er u.a. als Solopianist der Basel Sinfonietta und des EPhB ein wichtiger Protagonist der zeitgenössischen Schweizer Musikszene. Verziert mit einer Vielfalt an Tasteninstrumenten vom Clavichord bis zu den Ondes Martenot, bezieht er sowohl eine traditionsbewusste als auch eine experimentelle Stellung. Seine künstlerische Tätigkeit ist durch Aufnahmen, Videoproduktionen und eine umfangreiche Konzerttätigkeit in Europa, Asien und Australien belegt.

Samuel
Wettstein

Keyboards

Samuel Wettstein *1971 geboren und in St. Gallen aufgewachsen. Er studierte Klavier bei Jürg Wyttenbach und Jean-Jacques Dünki  an der Hochschule für Musik in Basel. Als Pianist und Keyboarder spielt er in diversen Formationen unterschiedlicher Stilrichtungen – Neue Musik, Neue Improvisationsmusik und Jazz / Rock / Pop – und war an zahlreichen Uraufführungen sowie Radio- und CD-Produktionen beteiligt. Er ist Gründungsmitglied der Albanian-Jazz-Band Kapsamun, des Ensembles Katarakt und des Trios Mo’Wings. Er spielt, komponiert und produziert ausserdem Musik für Theater, Film und Tanz und beschäftigt sich intensiv mit Elektronischer Musik, Audio-Design und Perkussion. An der Musik-Akademie Basel unterrichtet er eine Klavierklasse.

Friedemann
Treiber

Violine

Friedemann Amadeus Treiber *1971 in Offenburg. Erhielt seinen ersten Violinunterricht im Alter von 5 Jahren von seinem Bruder Felix. Nach Studien bei Prof. Wolfgang Marschner und Prof. Hansheinz Schneeberger erwarb er 1991/92 an der Musikhochschule Basel jeweils mit Auszeichnung das Lehr-und Solistendiplom für Violine. Er ist Preisträger nationaler und internationaler Wettbewerbe und tritt neben Radio- und CD-Aufnahmen international als Kammermusiker und Solist auf. Sein Repertoire umfasst Werke für Violine solo, Violinkonzerte und Kammermusik aller Epochen. Er ist Konzertmeister des EPhB, Mitglied der Basel Sinfonietta und Primarius des Ensemble Aventure. Er spielt Klavier und Viola und entfaltet eine rege Tätigkeit als Komponist. Seit 2016 ist er Dozent für Violine an der Kalaidos Musikhochschule Schweiz.

Petra
Ackermann

Viola

Petra Ackermann geboren in Klagenfurt. Studium an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Wien, an der Royal Academy Of Music London sowie bei Garth Knox in Paris. Widmungsträgerin zahlreicher Werke. Als Solistin und Kammermusikerin konzertiert sie regelmässig an Festivals, wie Wien Modern, Musikprotokoll Graz, Klangspuren Schwatz. Sie ist Mitglied beim Mondrian Ensemble Basel, im Ensemble Wiener Collage sowie im Ensemble phace contemporary music. Regelmässige Zusammenarbeit mit Musikern aus den Bereichen Jazz und elektronische Musik, u.a. mit David Liebmann, Peter Herbert, Theo Bleckmann, James Blood Ulmer, Wayne Horvitz, Elliott Sharp und Fennes. 2009 Förderpreis für Musik des Landes Kärnten.

Alessandro
D’Amico

Viola

Alessandro D’Amico *1986 in Caracas geboren, besuchte die Music School Montalban in Caracas. Ab 2002 studierte er bei Prof. Gerard Caussè und Prof. Rainer Schmidt an Escuela Superior de Musica Reina Sofia und von 2004-2006 bei Prof. Peter Langgartner am Mozarteum in Salzburg. Von 2002-2009 war er Bratschist im Simon Bolivar Youth Orchestra mit Dirigenten wie Giuseppe Sinopoli, Claudio Abbado, und Gustavo Dudamel. Meisterkurse besuchte er u.a. bei Nobuko Imai, Veronika Hagen und Atar Arad. Ab 2009 studierte er an der Hochschule für Musik in Basel im graduiertem Kurs für Streichquartette bei Prof. Walter Levin und Bratsche bei Silvia Simionescu. Er ist Mitglied des Merel Quartetts, der Camerata Variabile,  dem EPhB und der Capella Andrea Barca.

Martin
Jaggi

Violoncello

Martin Jaggi wurde *1978 im Basel geboren. Er studierte Violoncello und Komposition in Basel, Zürich und Hamburg. Von 2000 bis 2013 war er Mitglied des Mondrian Ensemble Basel, welches er mitbegründet hat. Ausserdem ist der Solo Cellist der basel sinfonietta.
Als Komponist erhält Martin Jaggi Aufträge von renommierten Ensembles und Festivals und seine Werke erleben viele Aufführungen in zahlreichen Ländern Europas, Asiens und Amerikas. Er lebt und arbeitet in Singapur und Basel. Martin Jaggi ist Mitglied des EPhB seit 2010.

Stéphanie
Meyer

Violoncello

Stéphanie Meyer *1977 geboren in Montréal, Sie erhält ihre musikalische Ausbildung am Konservatorium ihrer Heimatstadt von Dorothy Bégin, an der McGill Universität bei Antonio Lysy und an der Musik-Akademie Basel bei Thomas Demenga. Später wendet sie sich unter Anleitung von Christophe Coin an der Schola Cantorum Basel dem Spiel des Barockcellos zu. Sie ist Gast bei Musikfestivals in Deutschland, Schweiz und England. Dankbar ist sie für prägende Begegnungen mit Musikern wie Steven Isserlis, Janos Starker, Mstislav Rostropovitch, Anner Bylsma, Erich Höbarth und Sergio Azzolini. Sie war u.a. Solocellistin der Camerata Bern und wirkte bei Projekten der Cappella Andrea Barca unter András Schiff mit. Sie unterrichtet seit 2010 an der Musikschule Basel.

Aleksander
Gabryś

Kontrabass

Aleksander Gabryś *1974, spielt seit 2001 mit dem EPhB zusammen. Er ist Kontrabassist, Performer, Komponist und Preisträger mehrerer Kompositions- und Interpretationswettbewerbe und tritt als Solist mit verschiedenen Orchestern auf. Konzerte führten ihn u.a. nach New York, Stanford, Buenos Aires, Saõ Paulo, Venedig, Paris und Wien. Zahlreiche Komponisten haben eigens für ihn Kontrabass-Werke geschrieben. Sein künstlerisches Werk beinhaltet Kammermusik und Solo-Kontrabassstücke, sowie Computermusik der Neo-Expressionistischen Avantgarde. 2022 hat er sein Musiktheater «Die Beelzebub Sonate» präsentiert und ein Sextett für Sound Plasma Festival Berlin komponiert. Er ist Präsident des «freagroup studio» für polymediale, para-theatralische Akte.

Daniel
Stalder

Schlagzeug

Daniel Stalder studierte in Basel bei Siegfried Schmid Schlagzeug und schloss mit Lehr-, Orchester und Konzertreifediplom ab. Seit der Ensemblegründung 1998 spielt er regelmässig im EPhB. Er spielt weitere Konzerte und Projekte mit der Basel Sinfonietta, dem Schlagzeugduo HOW2, dem Ensemble für Neue Musik Zürich, dem Basler Schlagzeugensemble, dem Ensemble Paul Klee Bern und Sextuor de percussions des 3 frontières.

João
Pacheco

Schlagzeug

João Carlos Pacheco *1988 ist ein portugiesischer Musiker, der Schlagzeug und Perkussion als Mittel für die Entwicklung neuer Kreationen im Bereich der zeitgenössischen Musik einsetzt. Seine Konzerttätigkeit als Schlagzeuger wird durch seine Arbeit im Bereich der elektroakustischen Musik, der Komposition und der Zusammenarbeit in multidisziplinären Projekten erweitert. Er ist Mitglied des Ensemble Inverspace, EPhB, Ensemble of Nomads, TAL Trio und Blechtrommel Duo. Zu seinen Auftritten bei Festivals und Konzertreihen zählen u.a. Wien Modern, ECLAT (Stuttgart), Lucerne Festival, ULTIMA Festival (Oslo), Gogol Festival (Kiew), ManiFeste IRCAM (Paris), reMusik (St. Petersburg). Seit 2013 wohnt er in Basel.

Thomas
Peter

Elektronik

Thomas Peter *1971 ist Musiker, Komponist und Dozent und studierte Audiodesign und Improvisation an der Musikakademie Basel. Er ist seit über 20 Jahren in den Bereichen der Komposition elektroakustischer Musik, improvisierter Musik und Klanginstallationen tätig und doziert an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK). Er lebt und arbeitet in Zürich. Seine Konzerttätigkeit umfasst als Solokünstler und als Interpret zeitgenössischer Musik Auftritte in Europa, Asien, Nord- und Südamerika. Seine Solokonzerte und Kompositionen sind zwischen improvisierter elektronischer Musik und mehrkanaligen, akustisch raumfüllenden Laptop-Performances anzusiedeln.

Jürg
Henneberger

Musikalische Leitung

Der Dirigent und Pianist Jürg Henneberger, *1957 in Luzern, studierte in Basel bei Jürg Wyttenbach und in Hamburg bei Klauspeter Seibel und Christoph von Dohnànyi. Er unterrichtete von 1989 bis 2022 an der Hochschule für Musik Basel. Er ist künstlerischer Leiter des 1998 von ihm gegründeten EPhB, das auf Zeitgenössische Musik spezialisiert ist. 1998–2014 war er Präsident der Internationalen Gesellschaft für Neue Musik (IGNM) Basel. Ausserdem ist er ein weithin gefragter musikalischer Leiter grosser Ballett- und Opernproduktionen. Seit 2009 war er Professor und gemeinsam mit Mike Svoboda und Marcus Weiss künstlerischer Leiter des neu gegründeten Master-Studiengangs für Musikalische Performance Zeitgenössische Musik.