Phœnix

Davidovsky +

Concert in collaboration with the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK), class for electro-acoustic composition Germán Toro Pérez

Mario Davidovsky’s “Synchronisms” are masterpieces of instrumental music with playback tape, which we had already planned in 2020 but were unable to perform due to the coronavirus. Instead, a double LP was created. For the new edition of the idea of playing Davidovsky’s music in concert, we were able to win the ICST of the ZHdK as a co-production partner. This collaboration will result in seven new compositions by students for the same instrumentation.

Mario Davidovsky is one of the great figures of American New Music – but has hardly been played in Europe. As a pioneer of electronic music, he was already working at the “Columbia-Princeton Electronic Music Center” in 1960. His work includes by far not only electronic music. His most famous works, the “Synchronisms”, a series of over a dozen works written over a period of more than 40 years, have influenced generations of composers. In combining “classical” instruments with pre-produced electronic sounds, Davidovsky, unlike many other composers of this genre, is not interested in special “sound effects” in any way, but rather seeks a fusion of instrumental sound with electronics, resulting in both continuity and intrinsic musical expression. The earliest “Synchronisms” date from a time when today’s sound technology was still in its infancy, but they are nevertheless masterpieces without equal; the long time span in which the “Synchronisms” were created also documents the technical progress in this field over the time. In addition to a large number of awards for his work, Mario Davidovsky received the Pulitzer Prize in 1971 explicitly for his work “Synchronisms No. 6”.


Program

Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) “Synchronisms No. 1” for flute and electronic sounds (1963) – 4’21’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) “Synchronisms No. 3” for cello and electronic sounds (1964) – 5’03’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) “Synchronisms No. 6” for piano and electronic sounds (1970) – 7’32’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) “Synchronisms No. 9” for violin and tape (1988) – 8’52’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) “Synchronisms No. 10” for guitar and tape (1992) – 9’50’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) “Synchronisms No. 11” for contrabass and electronic sounds (2005) – 7’23’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) “Synchronisms No. 12” for clarinet and electronic sounds (2006) – 6’34’’ Students of ZHdK: Joan Jordi Oliver Arcos (*1994) New Work for contrabass and electronics (WP, commission EPhB) – 8–10’ Nuño Fernández Ezquerra (*1992) New Work for electric guitar and electronics (WP, commission EPhB) – 5–7’ Felix Friedrich (*2003) New Work for cello and electronics (WP, commission EPhB) – 7–9’ Seçil Metin (*1994) New Work for piano and electronics (WP, commission EPhB) – 6–7’ Andrzej Ojczenasz (*1992) New Work for flute and electronics (WP, commission EPhB) – ca. 5’ Martin Reck (*1989) New Work for clarinet and electronics (WP, commission EPhB) – 4–6’ Franziska Wilhelm (*2003) New Work for violin and electronics (WP, commission EPhB) – ca. 6’
Christoph Bösch
flute
Toshiko Sakakibara
clarinet
Maurizio Grandinetti
guitar, electric guitar
Ludovic Van Hellemont
piano
Friedemann Treiber
violin
Stéphanie Meyer
cello
Aleksander Gabryś
double bass
sound design
Jürg Henneberger
supervision
Germán Toro Pérez
supervision

Phœnix

Davidovsky +

Konzert in Zusammenarbeit mit der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK), Klasse für elektroakustische Komposition Germán Toro Pérez

Mario Davidovskys «Synchronisms» sind Meisterwerke der Instrumentalmusik mit Zuspielband, die wir bereits 2020 geplant hatten, aber Corona-bedingt nicht aufführen konnten. Stattdessen ist eine Doppel-LP entstanden. Für die Neuauflage der Idee, Davidovskys Musik im Konzert zu spielen, konnten wir als Koproduktionspartner das ICST der ZHdK gewinnen. In dieser Zusammenarbeit entstehen sieben neue Kompositionen von Studierenden für die gleichen Besetzungen.

Mario Davidovsky ist eine der ganz grossen Figuren der Amerikanischen Neuen Musik – in Europa jedoch bisher kaum gespielt. Als Pionier der Elektronischen Musik arbeitete er bereits 1960 am «Columbia-Princeton Electronic Music Center». Sein Werk umfasst bei weitem nicht nur elektronische Musik. Seine berühmtesten Werke, die «Synchronisms», eine Reihe von über einem Dutzend Werken, die in einem Zeitraum von mehr als 40 Jahren entstanden sind, prägten Generationen von Komponist:innen. Bei der Kombination «klassischer» Instrumente mit vorproduzierten elektronischen Klängen interessiert sich Davidovsky im Unterschied zu vielen anderen Komponist:innen dieses Genres in keiner Weise für besondere «Sound Effects», sondern sucht nach einer Verschmelzung des Instrumentalklanges mit der Elektronik, woraus sowohl Kontinuität als auch immanenter musikalischer Ausdruck entstehen. Die frühesten «Synchronisms» entstammen einer Zeit, in der unsere heutige «sound technology» noch in den Kinderschuhen steckte, sind aber nichts desto trotz Meisterwerke, die ihresgleichen suchen; die lange Zeitspanne, in der die «Synchronisms» entstanden sind, dokumentiert ausserdem den technischen Fortschritt auf diesem Gebiet im Lauf der Zeit. Neben ungewöhnlich vielen Auszeichnungen für sein Schaffen erhielt Mario Davidovsky im Jahr 1971 explizit für sein Werk «Synchronisms No. 6» den Pulitzer-Preis.


Programm

Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) «Synchronisms No. 1» für Flöte und Tonband (1963) – 4’21’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) «Synchronisms No. 3» für Violoncello und Tonband (1964) – 5’03’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) «Synchronisms No. 6» für Klavier und Tonband (1970) – 7’32’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) «Synchronisms No. 9» für Violine und Tonband (1988) – 8’52’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) «Synchronisms No. 10» für Gitarre und Tonband (1992) – 9’50’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) «Synchronisms No. 11» für Kontrabass und Tonband (2005) – 7’23’’ Mario Davidovsky (1934–2019) «Synchronisms No. 12» für Klarinette und Tonband (2006) – 6’34’’ Studierende der ZHdK: Joan Jordi Oliver Arcos (*1994) Neues Werk für Kontrabass und Elektronik (UA, Auftrag EPhB) – 8–10’ Nuño Fernández Ezquerra (*1992) Neues Werk für E-Gitarre und Elektronik (UA, Auftrag EPhB) – 5–7’ Felix Friedrich (*2003) Neues Werk für Violoncello und Elektronik (UA, Auftrag EPhB) – 7–9’ Seçil Metin (*1994) Neues Werk für Klavier und Elektronik (UA, Auftrag EPhB) – 6–7’ Andrzej Ojczenasz (*1992) Neues Werk für Flöte und Elektronik (UA, Auftrag EPhB) – ca. 5’ Martin Reck (*1989) Neues Werk für Klarinette und Elektronik (UA, Auftrag EPhB) – 4–6’ Franziska Wilhelm (*2003) Neues Werk für Violine und Elektronik (UA, Auftrag EPhB) – ca. 6’
Christoph Bösch
Flöte
Toshiko Sakakibara
Klarinette
Maurizio Grandinetti
Gitarre, E-Gitarre
Ludovic Van Hellemont
Klavier
Friedemann Treiber
Violine
Stéphanie Meyer
Violoncello
Aleksander Gabryś
Kontrabass
Sounddesign
Jürg Henneberger
Supervision
Germán Toro Pérez
Supervision