Date / Place I

20 November 2017 Gare du Nord, Basel

Date / Place II

20 November 2017 Gare du Nord, Basel

Series

Phoenix

Title

Laureate concert Trabant 2016/17

Program

Elnaz Seyedi (*1982) “Detaillierter Blick” for ensemble (2016/17, commission EPhB, WP) Kevin Juillerat (*1987) “TOMBEAU (...kammer...)” for 13 instruments (2016/17, commission EPhB, WP) György Ligeti (1923–2006) “Kammerkonzert” for 13 instrumentalists (1969/70)

Musicians

Christoph Bösch
flute, alto flute, piccolo
Antje Thierbach
oboe, oboe d’amore, English horn
Toshiko Sakakibara
clarinet, bass clarinet
Richard Haynes
clarinet, bass clarinet
Lucas Rößner
contraforte
Aurélien Tschopp
horn
Jens Bracher
trumpet
Michael Büttler
trombone
Daniel Stalder
percussion
Manuel Bärtsch
piano
Kirill Zwegintsow
piano, celesta
Ludovic Van Hellemont
piano, harpsichord, harmonium
Friedemann Treiber
violin
David Sontòn Caflisch
violin
Petra Ackermann
viola
Martin Jaggi
cello
Aleksander Gabryś
double bass
Jürg Henneberger
conductor

Program description

In 2016/17 EPhB conducted for the second time a biennial international composition workshop. In three preparatory modules – these supported by the Swiss Arts Council “Pro Helvetia” – young composers at the beginning of their career get the opportunity to experiment with us as a professional specialist ensemble over the period of 18 months.

For the final fourth module – then as an integral part of our series – two selected graduates of the preparatory phase are commissioned to compose a new work as a musical “commentary” on a central work of the 20th or 21st century. The new works are to “orbit” this composition as “satellites”, i.e. they are to refer to it or contrast with it. In 2017, the two satellites will revolve around the “Chamber Concerto,” one of the major works of Hungarian composer György Ligeti.

Originally from Iran, Elnaz Seyedi studied composition in Bremen with Younghi Pagh-Paan, in Basel with Caspar Johannes Walter, and at the Folkwang University of the Arts Essen with Günter Steinke. With her work “Detaillierter Blick”, she illuminates and reflects on various mood states of Ligeti’s masterpiece without quoting it directly.

The composer and saxophonist Kevin Juillerat, who comes from French-speaking Switzerland, studied saxophone in Lausanne with Pierre-Stéphane Meugé and in Basel with Marcus Weiss. At the same time he studied in Geneva with Michael Jarrell and Luis Naon and in Basel with Georg Friedrich Haas composition. His new work TOMBEAU makes concrete use of individual “building blocks” from Ligeti’s chamber concerto, placing them in a new context and developing them further until, shortly before the end, they culminate in a short literal quotation that breaks off abruptly and leads to an open ending.

Datum / Ort I

20 November 2017 Gare du Nord, Basel

Datum / Ort II

20 November 2017 Gare du Nord, Basel

Serie

Phoenix

Titel

Preisträgerkonzert Trabant 2016/17

Programm

Elnaz Seyedi (*1982) «Detaillierter Blick» für Ensemble (2016/17, UA, Auftrag EPhB) Kevin Juillerat (*1987) «TOMBEAU (...kammer...)» für 13 Instrumente (2016/17, UA, Auftrag EPhB) György Ligeti (1923–2006) «Kammerkonzert» für 13 Instrumentalisten (1969/70)

Musiker:innen

Christoph Bösch
Flöte, Altflöte, Piccolo
Antje Thierbach
Oboe, Oboe d’amore, Englischhorn
Toshiko Sakakibara
Klarinette, Bassklarinette
Richard Haynes
Klarinette, Bassklarinette
Lucas Rößner
Kontraforte
Aurélien Tschopp
Horn
Jens Bracher
Trompete
Michael Büttler
Posaune
Daniel Stalder
Schlagzeug
Manuel Bärtsch
Klavier
Kirill Zwegintsow
Klavier, Celesta
Ludovic Van Hellemont
Klavier, Cembalo, Harmonium
Friedemann Treiber
Violine
David Sontòn Caflisch
Violine
Petra Ackermann
Viola
Martin Jaggi
Violoncello
Aleksander Gabryś
Kontrabass
Jürg Henneberger
Musikalische Leitung

Programm­beschrieb

EPhB führte in der Saison 2016/17 zum zweiten Mal einen biennalen internationalen Kompositions-Workshop durch. In drei vorbereitenden Modulen – diese unterstützt durch die Schweizer Kulturstiftung «Pro Helvetia» – bekommen junge Komponist(inn)en zu Beginn ihrer Karriere die Gelegenheit, mit uns als professionellem Spezia­listen­ensemble über den Zeitraum von 18 Monaten zu experimentieren.

Für das abschliessende vierte Modul – dann als integraler Teil unserer Reihe – erhalten zwei ausgewählte Absolvent(inn)en der Vorbereitungsphase den Auftrag, mit einem neuen Werk einen musikalischen «Kommentar» zu einem Zentralwerk des 20. oder 21. Jahrhunderts zu komponieren. Die neuen Werke sollen quasi als «Trabanten» diese Komposition «umkreisen», d.h. Bezug darauf nehmen oder diese kontrastieren. 2017 werden sich die beiden Trabanten um das «Kammerkonzert», eines der Hauptwerke des ungarischen Komponisten György Ligeti drehen.

Die aus dem Iran stammende Elnaz Seyedi hat in Bremen bei Younghi Pagh-Paan, in Basel bei Caspar Johannes Walter und an der Folkwang Universität der Künste Essen bei Günter Steinke Komposition studiert. Mit ihrem Werk Detaillierter Blick beleuchtet und reflektiert sie verschiedene Stimmungszustände von Ligetis Meisterwerk, ohne dieses direkt zu zitieren.

Der aus der französischen Schweiz stammende Komponist und Saxophonist Kevin Juillerat studierte in Lausanne bei Pierre-Stéphane Meugé und in Basel bei Marcus Weiss Saxophon. Gleichzeitig studierte er in Genf bei Michael Jarrell und Luis Naon sowie in Basel bei Georg Friedrich Haas Komposition. Sein neues Werk TOMBEAU verwendet ganz konkret einzelne «Bausteine» aus Ligetis Kammerkonzert, um sie in einen neuen Zusammenhang zu stellen und weiterzuentwickeln, bis sie kurz vor Schluss in ein kurzes wörtliches Zitat münden, das abrupt abbricht und zu einem offenen Ende führt.