Date / Place

08 June 2019 Gare du Nord, Basel

Series

phoenix satellite

Title

Satellite 2018/19_internal closing concert

Program

Eleni Ralli (*1984) “Rawit” for ensemble – dedicated to Ensemble Phoenix Basel (2019, WP) Victor Alexandru Coltea (*1986) “Block Chain” for ensemble – dedicated to Ensemble Phoenix Basel (2019, WP) Ole Hübner (*1993) “masse und bewegung” for ensemble (2019, WP) Omri Abram (*1986) “Time passes Time” for ensemble (2019, WP) Hovik Sardaryan (*1993) “Višap” for ensemble (2019, WP) Emre Sihan Kaleli (*1987) “Gabryś” a number of scenes for double bass and ensemble after Lutosławski’s “Chain I” (2019, WP) Tobias Krebs (*1993) “trycheln” for ensemble (2019, WP) Joey Tan (*1997) “Mix” for 14 instruments (2019, WP)

Musicians

Christoph Bösch
flutes
Antje Thierbach
oboe
Toshiko Sakakibara
clarinets
Lucas Rößner
bassoon, contraforte
Jens Bracher
trumpet
Aurélien Tschopp
horn
Michael Büttler
trombone
Manuel Bärtsch
piano
Ludovic Van Hellemont
piano
Friedemann Treiber
violin
David Sontòn Caflisch
viola, violin
Petra Ackermann
viola
Stéphanie Meyer
cello
Aleksander Gabryś
double bass
Daniel Stalder
percussion
Jürg Henneberger
conductor

Program description

Trabant 2018/19 followed in its outer, organizational form the pattern of the 2016 modified, second Satellite edition, as it had proven itself in every respect. In addition to the 8 candidates, this time we awarded a “wild card” to the (very) young and talented composer Joey Tan, who had come to our attention during our trip to Singapore last fall. Joey participated as a full member of the group, but externally funded and thus not a burden on the adjacent budget.

In an initial module in November 2018, there was room for instrument-specific issues ranging from small instrumentation to balance issues in full instrumentation. Our core members involved were able to pass on their experience and know-how and information about relevant literature directly to the composers present together as a “class”, which fell on very fertile ground.

In a second module – scheduled for January 2019 – the composers arrived partly with sketches, partly with fully developed compositions in their luggage, which were tried out and tested by larger registers and subsequently by the full ensemble. Feedback from Detlev Müller-Siemens, who was present from this point on, from Jürg Henneberger and from members of the ensemble led to a deeper, more intensive examination of the compositional sketches. Erik Oña had to withdraw completely from the project due to his serious illness, and we were able to replace him with Detlev Müller-Siemens, with whom we had already successfully collaborated in the same capacity in the 2016/17 edition.

For the third module (June 2019), all composers provided a finished piece in score and part material (digital and on paper), which 8 of the 9 composers also complied with (Korean’s Ji Hyon Yoon stayed away from the last module for family reasons). In an almost too dense rehearsal phase, the full ensemble rehearsed the eight partly extensive compositions, again with the constant presence of all composers and Detlev Müller-Siemens. On Saturday, June 8, 2019, all compositions were premiered in a deliberately internal concert and recorded simultaneously.

From the candidates, two will be selected as prize-winners for the concert planned for January 2020 in connection with Witlod Lutosławski’s “Chain I”.

Datum / Ort

08 Juni 2019 Gare du Nord, Basel

Serie

Trabant

Titel

Trabant 2018/19_internes Schlusskonzert

Programm

Eleni Ralli (*1984) «Rawit» für Ensemble – dem Ensemble Phoenix Basel gewidmet (2019, UA) Victor Alexandru Coltea (*1986) «Block Chain» für Ensemble – dem Ensemble Phoenix Basel gewidmet (2019, UA) Ole Hübner (*1993) «masse und bewegung» für Ensemble (2019, UA) Omri Abram (*1986) «Time passes Time» für Ensemble (2019, UA) Hovik Sardaryan (*1993) «Višap» für Ensemble (2019, UA) Emre Sihan Kaleli (*1987) «Gabryś» eine Anzahl von Szenen für Kontrabass und Ensemble nach Lutosławski’s «Chain I» (2019, UA) Tobias Krebs (*1993) «trycheln» für Ensemble (2019, UA) Joey Tan (*1997) «Mix» für 14 Instrumente (2019, UA)

Musiker:innen

Christoph Bösch
Flöten
Antje Thierbach
Oboe
Toshiko Sakakibara
Klarinetten
Lucas Rößner
Fagott, Kontraforte
Jens Bracher
Trompete
Aurélien Tschopp
Horn
Michael Büttler
Posaune
Manuel Bärtsch
Klavier
Ludovic Van Hellemont
Klavier
Friedemann Treiber
Violine
David Sontòn Caflisch
Viola, Violine
Petra Ackermann
Viola
Stéphanie Meyer
Violoncello
Aleksander Gabryś
Kontrabass
Daniel Stalder
Schlagzeug
Jürg Henneberger
Musikalische Leitung

Programm­beschrieb

Trabant 2018/19 verlief in der äusseren, organisatorischen Form nach dem Muster der 2016 modifierten, zweiten Trabant-Edition, da sich diese in jeder Hinsicht bewährt hatte. Zusätzlich zu den 8 Kandidat:innen vergaben wir diesmal eine «wild card» an die (sehr) junge und talentierte Komponistin Joey Tan, auf die wir auf unserer Reise nach Singapur im vergangenen Herbst aufmerksam geworden waren. Joey nahm als vollwertiges Mitgleid der Gruppe teil, jedoch fremdfinanziert und somit auch nicht das anliegende Budget belastend.

In einem ersten Modul im November 2018 war Raum für instrumentenspezifische Fragen, angefangen von kleinen Besetzungen bis hin zu Balance-Fragen in der vollen Besetzung. Unsere beteiligten Kernmitglieder konnten ihre Erfahrung und ihr Know-how und Auskünfte über relevante Fachliteratur direkt an die gemeinsam als «Klasse» anwesenden Komponist:innen weitergeben, was auf sehr fruchtbaren Boden fiel.

In einem zweiten Modul – angesetzt im Januar 2019 – reisten die Komponist:innen teils mit Skizzen, teils mit bereits ausgewachsenen Kompositionen im Gepäck an, die durch grössere Register und anschliessend durch das vollständige Ensemble ausprobiert und erprobt wurden. Feedbacks durch den ab diesem Zeitpunkt anwesenden Detlev Müller-Siemens, durch Jürg Henneberger wie durch Ensemble-Mitglieder führten zu einer vertieften, intensiven Auseinandersetzung mit den Kompositions-Skizzen. Erik Oña musste sich aufgrund seiner schweren Krankheit ganz aus dem Projekt zurückziehen, und wir konnten ihn durch Detlev Müller-Siemens ersetzen, mit dem wir bereits in der Edition 2016/17 in gleicher Funktion erfolgreich zusammengearbeitet hatten.

Für das dritte Modul (Juni 2019) lieferten alle Komponist:innen ein fertiges Stück in Partitur und Stimmenmaterial (digital und auf Papier), dem 8 der 9 Komponist:innen auch nachkamen (die Koreanerin Ji Hyon Yoon blieb dem letzten Modul aus familiären Gründen fern). In einer fast zu dichten Probephase probte das vollbesetzte Ensemble die acht teils umfangreichen Kompositionen, wieder mit ständiger Anwesenheit aller Komponist:innen und Detlev Müller-Siemens. Am Samstag, 8. Juni 2019 wurden alle Kompositionen in einem bewusst internen Konzert uraufgeführt und gleichzeitig aufgenommen.

Aus den  Kandidat:innen werden zwei als Preisträger:innen für das im Januar 2020 geplante Konzert im Zusammenhang mit Witlod Lutosławski’s «Chain I» ausgewählt.